Running is Simply Putting One Foot in Front of the Other

One of my favorite group fitness instructors in the Bay Area, Jackelyn Ho, wrote an interesting post, “A Eulogy to Running,” a few months ago, and it got me thinking about my own trials and tribulations with running.

There was a time in my life when I absolutely hated to run. I wasn’t particularly athletic growing up. I remember hating P.E. in middle school, particularly when we were forced to do rope climbing in front of everyone else in class! I couldn’t even muster the strength to haul myself up and stand on the bottom knot. It was embarrassing. (Do they still make students climb ropes in P.E., by the way?!)

Fast forward 15 years, and I was able to achieve this on Saturday:

1 mile statMy 5 K Stats

I couldn’t believe it, I finished my 4.58 mile run in 38:45! I certainly don’t think that I’m a fast runner at all, but what I accomplished on Saturday demonstrates that I have come a long way since high school and college. By simply by putting one foot in front of the other, I was able to conquer my aversion to running and physical fitness in general. This may seem a bit trite, but a bit of patience and perseverance does go a long way.

However, I can’t say that running is my favorite form of exercise. I think that the cardio kickboxing, spinning, boot camp, and yoga classes that I do every week are much more interesting. But I like running because it has been the best way for me to gauge my fitness level at a given time.

As I usually need an extra push before going out for a run, here’s what I turn to for motivation:

  • Preparing an upbeat playlist to keep me going during my run. There are people who run while listening to audio books, and I admire their ability to do so. For me, I need some serious beats pumping into my ears to stay motivated.
  • Owning a pair of flashy running shoes (of course).

Running Shoes

  • I joined the Run This Year challenge and set a goal of running a mile a day. I try to make sure that I run at least 7 miles every week, and I have been on track so far!
  • I would also like to run a race this year, though I’m not sure what distance is best. I’m thinking of a 15K race. Any ideas on good races to run in Northern California??
3 thoughts on “Running is Simply Putting One Foot in Front of the Other

  1. Lisa! Thank you for sharing my piece! I can’t believe you did 4.58 miles in 38:45. Actually, I can believe it. That is amazing!! You never cease to amaze me with your athletic ability. See you tomorrow!

    PS – your writing is great! We must get you onto Fiterazzi soon!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Friday Bits: Power Songs for Running | Healthy Nibbles & Bits

Leave a Reply

