Swiss Chard Wraps & Creamy Cilantro-Lime Sauce

A few years ago, I was introduced to the wonders of swiss chard through a casserole recipe I found on the New York Times by Martha Rose Shulman. I have made that dish many, many times, and it is always a crowd pleaser! This week’s challenge for the The Kitchn’s Cooking Cure is to try new recipes for dinner. I frequently cook swiss chard for dinner, but I have never eaten it raw before . . . until yesterday!

As I searched online for new dinner ideas, I came across a recipe on Dishing Up the Dirt for vegan collard wraps with chickpea walnut meat that looked delicious! Unfortunately, I didn’t have any collard greens, but there was a lovely bunch of swiss chard in my refrigerator waiting to be eaten. I was a bit reluctant to use the swiss chard, as I had never eaten it raw before. I wasn’t even sure if it was “proper” to eat swiss chard raw. Thankfully, the internet comes in very handy during these situations. Not only did I find swiss chard salad recipes, but I also found a swiss chard wrap recipe by Tasty Yummies. Based on the recipes I found, I made some delicious swiss chard wraps for dinner and enjoyed them with my own creamy cilantro-lime sauce.

Swiss Chard Wraps

 Vegan Swiss Chard Wraps with Ground Chickpeas & Walnuts
(Inspired by Dishing Up the Dirt and Tasty Yummies)
Makes 6 Wraps
Prep Time: 15 minutes | Cooking Time: None

Ingredients 

    • 6 swiss chard leaves
    • 1 14-ounce can of chickpeas (about 1 1/2 cups), rinsed and drained
    • 1/2 cup walnut halves
    • 1 1/3 cup shredded carrots
    • 1 whole red pepper, thinly sliced
    • 1 TBS soy sauce
    • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (optional)

Directions

    1. Rinse the swiss chard leaves and pat dry. Chop off the stems of the swiss chard. You can use the stems for a stir fry dish or soup!
    2. In a food processor, blend the chickpeas and walnuts together.
    3. Pour the chickpea mixture into a small bowl and stir in the soy sauce. Add some garlic powder into the mixture if you want (this is a necessary step for me as I love garlic).
    4. Scoop out even portions of the chickpea mixture onto the swiss chard leaves. I placed the chickpea mixture close to the bottom of the leaves so that they would be easier to fold later. Top the chickpea mixture with the vegetables.
    5. Fold the swiss chard leaves into a wrap. I folded the left and right sides of the leaves toward the center first and then folded the top of each leaf down towards the stem.
    6. Enjoy these wraps on their own or with my creamy cilantro-lime sauce (recipe below)! Note: the cilantro-lime sauce is not vegan.

Swiss Chard Wraps | Healthy Nibbles & Bits

Creamy Cilantro Lime Sauce
Makes About 1 1/2 Cups
Prep Time: 15 minutes | Cooking Time: None

Ingredients

    • 1 bunch fresh cilantro (about 1 to 1 1/2 cup)
    • 3/4 cup greek yogurt
    • 1/4 cup sour cream
    • 3 cloves garlic
    • 1 TBS lime juice
    • 2 tsp maple syrup
    • 1 tsp paprika
    • 1/2 to 3/4 tsp salt

Directions

    1. Rinse the cilantro and and chop off the bottoms. It is fine to leave some of the stem in tact.
    2. Add all ingredients into a food processor or blender and mix until well incorporated.
    3. Enjoy with the sauce with the swiss chard wraps or use as a dipping sauce for other dishes!

One thought on “Swiss Chard Wraps & Creamy Cilantro-Lime Sauce

  1. Pingback: Maple & Curry Acorn Squash | Healthy Nibbles & Bits

Leave a Reply

